top of page
Search
Writer's pictureChristopher Gagnon

Update 4 -- The Saggy Middle

Updated: Jun 13, 2022


Fellow writers may understand and celebrate with me.

🥳 🎉🎉 I finally made it out of the saggy middle! 🎉🎉🥳


I'm pressing forward with this story after watching some really good videos about story structure. The biggest thing I've learned is to ensure that in every act of the story there is a clear goal driving the plot forward so the characters remain active. Below is the first of the videos I found very helpful.



Often times when I get stuck in the Saggy Middle of a story, I go back and edit things to hopefully get me out of it as well. That sorta worked too lol. 😂 I also draw pictures, though some don't look the best 😂😂 -- It gets what I see in my minds eye on paper or typed. And I count that as a win. 😀 I'm excited to have seen how this story, when I first started, looked so different and has now developed into something that I absolutely love to talk about and geek out about as much as I'd geek out about Star Wars or Marvel. I love this!


Currently I've finished 12 Chapters that are pretty solid, save for a few edits -- but not plot changing edits. I'm sitting on 31,130 words with 154 pages in Word.


Here's a picture of Oli -- The Protagonist -- that I drew recently, showing what - in my minds eye - I see him as looking like when the story opens:

If you would be interested in helping me with this story by reading what I have so far and commentating, please feel free to contact me via email below. I will send either one or a couple chapters via email, then would like to follow up with a few questions that help me gather people's thoughts on my story other than my own. Just note that this is before any professional edit has been done. Better to get the plot right and interesting before I spend money on that 😀



Have a great day!




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page